Presidents Newspage

Started by Administrator (Tony), May 03, 2023, 09:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Administrator (Tony)

Presidents Newspage (4)

(Posted on behalf of Gilly, by Administrator)

gwynndavis

I hadn't realised that it was such a hardship for mediocre bridge players to be selected to play for Wales. Is there a GoFundMe page we can start?

Obviously I can't mean Gilly, so let's assume I'm talking about myself. I have limited experience of these exalted levels, but such as I have had left me feeling enormously priviliged. Yes there were costs involved, but all tournament bridge costs money and we do it because we love it. To be eligible to represent Wales confers an enormous additional benefit because it puts these international tournaments within reach of those of us who would not have a snowball's chance in hell of being selected to represent England, whether in Open, Ladies, Seniors or Juniors. Some very good players have represented Wales, but there have also been a host of ordinary ones. We're a lucky bunch.

There are two issues that deserve serious consideration, and both point in what for many will be an unpalatable direction. The first is the disproportionate cost - for an NBO with a tiny membership such as ours - of supporting teams across four home international tournaments each year (five if you take into account that there are two Camrose weekends). This is a huge financial burden on the organisation and consumes most of our resources. We're not broke yet, but we're heading in that direction. We also have to host one home international tournament each year, and that gives rise to a significant organisational burden which we can barely manage. We can hardly step back from that and yet claim the right to field teams.